It was built in 1142-1150 as one of the earliest German vaulted churches in the Romanesque style. Art-historically, the church is an ensemble of several successive styles. Especially the Romanesque architecture harmoniously combined with the predominantly baroque features.
The church, which is called papal basilica minor since 1960, is the resting place of St. Herman Josef of Steinfeld. How big the popularity of the „Eifel-Saint“ is today shows the high number of visitor at services and at the celebrated annually Hermann-Josef-Tuesdays in preparation for the Hermann-Josef Fest with the raising of the shrine, the pontifical mass and the subsequent relics procession. World famous is the Basilica for their unique König-Organ of 1727 with her marvelous sound. Organists from all over the world are giving concerts here.